Spoiler: They Make Babies

Helpful links!

Posted in Things To Read by spoilerbaby on January 3, 2010

Here are a few links that I’ve enjoyed in the past.  There are a lot of lovely writers who have held forth on the subject of romance novels, and I like to give credit where credit is due.

The classic link to offer is Smart Bitches, Trashy Books.  This blog includes romance novel reviews (of course), thoughts on book publishing, general female-oriented media, and feminist discussion.

The other link I always offer to fellow romance readers is I Love My Dead Gay Husband, from the blog Life Under a Rock.  It’s a hilarious set-down of some of the common cliches of romance novels, from someone who has obviously read a whole lot of them.  I might write a few of these posts myself; I have one that I can’t wait to write that I will title, “A Little Bit Rapey.”

If you offer links in the comments, I will follow them (follow them wherever they will go), and probably relink here.

— First Mate Jess

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mary anne said, on January 3, 2010 at 6:25 am

    Thank you for posting the “dead gay husband” link — it made me giggle and giggle and giggle…….

    • spoilerbaby said, on January 3, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      I love that link! They’re really spot-on descriptions. It saves me a lot of time, too, when people ask me about my pet peeves when it comes to romance tropes. I can just send them the link, and they both are informed and get a good laugh.

  2. hypermobility said, on January 3, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Dudes, I cannot wait for “A Little Bit Rapey”. Hurry, hurry!

    Other Other Jess.

    • spoilerbaby said, on January 3, 2010 at 7:07 pm

      Sadly, I think it will end up being done before my dissertation goals for the day. Such is procrastination! It’s much more fun to talk about romance novels.


Leave a Reply

