Spoiler: They Make Babies

Ripping bodices at unbelievable speeds.

Posted in General Talk by firstmatejess on May 15, 2010

My god, it’s been a little while, hasn’t it?  Well, I’m going to try to make up for it in the coming month.  And one way to make up for it?  Read lots and lots of romance novels.  (My life is deliriously hard.)

I’m something of a speed-reader.  It’s not a skill I developed consciously; I didn’t take a class or read a book on the subject.  I just read quickly.  How quickly?  If I’m really clicking along, I can read up to three decent-size (200 page) novels a day, which I learned during my comprehensive exams.  Those are Serious Business Novels, though, on which I planned to take a Serious Business Exam.  What I don’t know for certain is how many romance novels I can read in one day.  Generally I don’t take exams on those, and I bet I could read a lot more of them.  I want to find  out!

The only question I have for myself is what constitutes a “day.”  And because nothing is official unless it’s been voted on by others:



If you have another suggestion for some element of this "experiment," post it in the comments!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tanglethis said, on May 16, 2010 at 7:55 am

    I vote for a regular workaday because otherwise you forget to eat meals. And I know not everyone shares my values but for me food > romance!

    • spoilerbaby said, on May 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      Fair point. I’ve been meditating on this Very Important Subject, and I think I am going to do a twelve-hour span, which will allow me to take occasional breaks for things like Food and perhaps Hygiene.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

